ALAA-Arvey Foundation Book Award

2023 ALAA-Arvey Foundation Book Award Winner

Natalia Majluf Inventing Indigenism: Francisco Laso’s Image of Modern Peru. University of Texas Press, 2021


2023 Book Award Honorable Mention

Aaron M. Hyman Rubens in Repeat: The Logic of the Copy in Colonial Latin America. Getty Publications, 2021


Past Book Award Recipients


Competition for the 2024 ALAA-Arvey Foundation Book Award

The Association for Latin American Art is pleased to sponsor the Annual ALAA-Arvey Foundation Book Award for an especially distinguished scholarly book published on the art of Latin America from the Pre-Columbian era to the present. The award is generously funded by the Arvey Foundation and consists of a citation and a $1,000 honorarium. We will present the award virtually at the annual meeting of the College Art Association in Chicago in February 2024. The name of the recipient will appear in the newsletters of both ALAA and CAA.

For the February 2024 Award, we will evaluate books on Latin American Art from Pre-Columbian to the present that meet the following criteria:

  • Publication date between September 1, 2022 and August 31, 2023
  • Books may be written in English, Spanish, or Portuguese
  • Books may have one or more authors

The books will be evaluated by a three-person committee of accomplished art historians, each with expertise in a wide geographical and temporal range.

Please contact Michele Greet at by October 1, 2023, to verify whether a prospective entry is eligible for the competition according to the above criteria. If the book is eligible, he will provide mailing addresses for the three committee members. Copies of books are to be sent directly to each, and must be received no later than October 31, 2023.

**The book committee does not consider exhibition catalogues. Please submit all inquiries regarding exhibition catalogues to the exhibition catalogue award chair George Flaherty at


Book Award Committee
Michele Greet, Chair
Andrew Hamilton,
Ilona Katzew,